Orazio Attanasio

Modèle D Blocs
Orazio Attanasio

Orazio Attanasio

Cowles Professeur d'économie

Université de Yale

Informations biographiques

Orazio Attanasio est professeur d'économie Cowles à l'Université de Yale, chercheur et l'un des directeurs du centre ESRC pour l'analyse microéconomique des politiques publiques et codirecteur du centre pour l'évaluation des politiques de développement (EDePo@IFS) à Institut d'études fiscales.

Il est chercheur associé au National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), Senior Fellow au Bureau for Research and Economic Analysis of Development et Research Fellow au Center for Economic and Policy Research. En 2001, il a été élu Fellow de l'Econometric Society et en 2004 Fellow de la British Academy. En 2014, il a été président de l'Association économique européenne. Il a été membre du comité exécutif de l'Econometric Society et de la LACEA et membre du Conseil de la Royal Economic Society.

Après avoir obtenu un doctorat à la London School of Economics, Orazio a enseigné à l'Université de Stanford et à l'Université de Bologne et a été professeur de recherche Jeremy Bentham à l'University College London. Il a également été National Fellow à la Hoover Institution de Stanford et professeur invité à l'Université de Chicago. Il a été rédacteur en chef de la Review of Economic Studies, du Journal of the European Economic Association et de Quantitative Economics.

En 2016, il a reçu le prix Carlos Diaz Alejandro de la LACEA et le Klaus Jacobs Research Prixe de la fondation Jacob. En 2017, il a été élu 2e vice-président de la Société d'économétrie, pour en devenir le président en 2020.

Les intérêts de recherche d'Orazio comprennent : la consommation des ménages, l'épargne et le comportement de l'offre de main-d'œuvre ; partage des risques; évaluation et conception de politiques dans les pays en développement; accumulation de capital humain dans les pays en développement; interventions auprès de la petite enfance; microcrédit; outils de mesure dans les enquêtes.

Il a réalisé des évaluations de programmes de financement et d'accès à l'éducation, y compris de grands programmes de transferts monétaires conditionnels, l'impact des bourses sur la scolarisation et l'effet des attentes subjectives sur les rendements de l'éducation.

Prénom
Orazio
Nom
Attanasio
Inactif
de

Cowles Professor of Economics
Yale University

Orazio Attanasio is the Cowles Professor of Economics at Yale University, Research Fellow and one of the Directors of the ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy and co-director of the Centre for the Evaluation of Development Policies (EDePo@IFS) at the Institute for Fiscal Studies.

He is a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), a Senior Fellow at the Bureau for Research and Economic Analysis of Development and a Research Fellow at the Centre for Economic and Policy Research. In 2001 he was elected Fellow of the Econometric Society and in 2004 Fellow of the British Academy. In 2014 he was President of the European Economic Association. He was in the executive committee of the Econometric Society and of LACEA and a member of the Council of the Royal Economic Society.

After obtaining a PhD at the London School of Economics, Orazio taught at Stanford University and the University of Bologna and was the Jeremy Bentham Research Professor at University College London. He was also a National Fellow at the Hoover Institution at Stanford and visiting professor at the University of Chicago. He has been Managing Editor of the Review of Economic Studies, the Journal of the European Economic Association and Quantitative Economics.

In 2016 he was awarded the Carlos Diaz Alejandro prize by LACEA and the Klaus Jacobs Research Prixe by the Jacob foundation. In 2017 he was elected 2nd vice-president of the Econometric Society, to serve as president in 2020.

Orazio’s research interests include: household consumption, saving and labour supply behavior; risk sharing; evaluation and design of policies in developing countries; human capital accumulation in developing countries; early years interventions; micro credit; measurement tools in surveys.

He has carried out evaluations of education financing and access programmes, including large conditional cash transfers programs, the impact of scholarships on school enrolment and the effect of subjective expectations on the returns to education.

Orazio Attanasio
Twitter